1990 – First day at primary school.

I was 7 years old. Family just came back from Australia after about 2 years there. It was my first day at my new school then. The teacher was notified by my parents that I can’t speak any bahasa then. So when introducing me in front of the class, the teacher asked me something. But I just stood in silence.

She repeated the question.

Again, total silence. The whole class laughed at me. I felt embarrassed. It was my first experience feeling publicly embarrassed.

After a few months at school, I was able to speak Malay, had some new friends and I remembered one of them asked me why I didn’t said anything on my first day. I asked him what did the teacher actually asked me? Then he said she asked my name. I felt a rush to my face. Finally understood why they were laughing at me.

But I swear at that time I couldn’t understand a word she was saying!

2 responses to “1990 – First day at primary school.

  1. Hehehe.Zaman kanak-kanak yang penuh dengan memori indah. Anyway, thanks for you wonderful message about Isabel!I appreciate it so much. 🙂

  2. Your welcome. Itulah, tiba-tiba nostalgia zaman kanak-kanak. Thanks for dropping by too.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Tweets

