Cars, Computers & The Internet

The other day I received a letter from Vicroads informing me to renew my car registration. Apparently, in the state of Victoria you don’t have to queue and line up, fill up any forms, renew your insurance first or show proof of ownership of the vehicle. It’s all in their computer system. All you have to do is pay either by cheque, credit card, cash at the post office and you can even pay via the internet. Now that’s what I call efficient governing system.

The only downside of it is that it’s quite expensive. But after checking the breakdown of charges. The most which make up of the price is the Transport Accident Commission(TAC). According to the website, these charges are used to pay for treatment and support services for people injured in transport accidents. So I’m okay with it and applaud the efforts of the Victorian government on their responsibility for the people.

Another point I really must complement is the easily accessible information that I can get from the internet from these government related websites. Compared to Malaysia, I see that we are going in that direction with the Malaysia’s government web portal. But what I see is the lack of standards in technology and design between different ministries. Just look at this website – It’s so 1990’s. However, I do see some good ones such as the the Ministry of Tourism website and the Ministry of Education site. I have to say, the most web2.0-ish website design would be the Road Transport Department. And what’s most interesting while I’m trying to finish up this entry, I found out from the RTD website that you can actually renew your road tax here http://www.myeg.com.my/. And yes, Maya Karin includes with the package ;). Looks like RTD commisioned a third party company to handle a government online system. Typical.

One response to “Cars, Computers & The Internet

  1. I agree with your opinion on Malaysia government websites. Most of them are hardly user-friendly.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Tweets

